The Cavern by Dan O'Sullivan | Script Revolution

The Cavern

Type:

Status:

Page Count: 
105pp

Genre:

Budget:

Age Rating:

Logline: 
Three college graduates become obsessively seduced by a secret Native American cavern's ominous ability to send them through time.
Synopsis/Details: 

Straight-arrow Tucker, charismatic Casey and gorgeous Jayden are three bright friends on the brink of their college graduation. All of their final exams have been aced and their futures are ripe with limitless and lucrative possibilities. And to make matters more fun, Tucker deals test answers on the side to less-fortunate students, like classmate Billy—a local Native American who, like the rest of his young generation, has passively disregarded the old, traditional ways of his aging tribe’s lineage. Nevertheless, Billy has decided to show his gratitude to Tucker by introducing him to something right down his alley of historical interest—an anciently-concealed and seldom-spoke-of forbidden cavern nestled deep in the woods of the tribe’s reservation grounds. Bringing Casey and Jayden along, Tucker is guided into the dark cavern by Billy with burning torches in hand and stoic skepticism in mind. But Billy isn’t prepared to pull any practical pranks, and he certainly isn’t prepared to stick around for the exploration of the ominous area containing strange centuries-old paintings on its walls depicting ancestral visions of disastrous events drawn long before they occurred. Despite Billy’s warning departure, the curious three friends proactively and separately trek deeper down the tunnels anyway until each discovers the cavern’s true secretive purpose through strangely surreal events—Tucker finds himself years earlier as a high school graduate on a night where a regrettable indecision to help an assaulted woman from being murdered in a city alley repeats itself in front of his unbelieving eyes. Casey, on the other hand, witnesses himself in his adolescent school days being taunted and bullied by a persistently menacing tormentor. And Jayden walks into a nineteenth-century playhouse where a certain U.S. president sits watching the presentation from an upper balcony, unaware of the armed assailant creeping up behind. After the three astounded individuals mysteriously manifest from their “trips” back in the cavern, they convene and logically deduce that the only explanation can be time travel. Now yielding this newfound ability with excited enthusiasm, the trio at first begin to carefully treat the location like a private playground of unwarranted opportunities, but with each obsessive visit, strangely sinister occurrences start to unfold afterward. Tucker starts to see the assaulted dead woman from his past, haunting him in every shadow. Casey suspects he is being followed by his agelessly-young childhood bully, hiding behind every corner. Jayden is taunted by her suicidal dead father, watching her with judgmental eyes within every crowd. Personal willpower is tested between the friends on whether to keep entering the cavern, but something malicious keeps pulling them back in—and it’s up to Tucker to soundly reason with the others if they’re all to escape from being consumed by its mysteriously unnatural dark forces in this chilling supernatural suspense-thriller in the vein of “Flatliners” and “Jacob’s Ladder”.

All Accolades & Coverage: 

Finalist, 2015 Las Vegas Screenplay Contest

Want to read this script? You must join the revolution first. Don't worry, it's free, easy, everyone's welcome, and you can start reading right away.

This Script Is Loved By

David A. Lloyd's picture
Dan O'Sullivan's picture
Gold Star

The Writer: Dan O'Sullivan

Dan O'Sullivan is an American screenwriter of widely-diverse genre titles with sixty awards and contest placements across nearly thirty different screenplays. His strengths rely on sharp, snappy dialogue and fantastic vision of detail to create engaging, believable, original and memorable stories. In addition, he has self-published four acclaimed books available exclusively at www.lulu.com. Graduate of the New York Film Academy and Brooklyn College for screenwriting. Go to bio

Dan Is A Rockstar Member Of Script Revolution

That means Dan helps keep the site running by contributing at least $5 a month via our Patreon Campaign. The site you are using right now is here partly because of their kind generosity.

More Scripts From Dan

Ratball
An ordinary high school nobody assembles a crew of misfits to join a tournament of “ratball”, a kickball-oriented gymnasium sport, to give unnoticed others like himself a fair chance to play.
Feature Comedy, Sport For sale 109pp
3 readers love this script
My Imaginary Girlfriend Hates Me Now!
A college student finds getting rid of his imaginary girlfriend is tougher than he thought when he falls for a beautiful personal trainer.
Feature Comedy, Romance For sale 93pp
2 readers love this script
Bloodthirsty
A diverse group of strangers trapped in a secluded London tavern must survive overnight against vicious werewolves.
Feature Action, Comedy, Horror For sale 91pp
2 readers love this script
Vengeance
An aspiring actor wages a vendetta against the inner city gang that raped and beat his girlfriend into a coma before his very eyes.
Feature Crime, Drama For sale 99pp
1 reader loves this script
The Best Man
A young Hollywood star returns home to be best man in the wedding of the bride he has been secretly in love with for years.
Feature Drama, Romance For sale 91pp
1 reader loves this script
Population: One
A nineteen-year-old drops out of film school following a tragic accident and returns to his quirky Pennsylvanian hometown in hopes of finding himself again.
Feature Drama For sale 115pp
1 reader loves this script
Despondency
Four stories reflect the hardships of eight connected people in a small town on a seemingly ordinary night that ends with life-changing circumstances for all.
Feature Drama For sale 95pp
1 reader loves this script
Adrenaline Rush
A pair of elusive bank robbers are double-crossed in a heist and must chase after the crew who got away with their cut of the money.
Feature Action, Comedy, Crime For sale 107pp
1 reader loves this script
Next Register, Please
A group of wacky video store clerks cope with the inevitable downfall of their outdated paradise as well as their ongoing battle with the bigger competition across town.
Feature Comedy For sale 118pp
1 reader loves this script
Bitches with Knives
After her deadbeat ex-boyfriend steals her winning lottery ticket, a hard-boiled trailer trash girl recruits her best friend and a sexy knife-wielding assassin for a revenge plot to reclaim her rightful fortune.
Feature Action, Comedy, Crime For sale 122pp
1 reader loves this script
Criminals
A young career woman falls in with two bank-robbing vampires after they take her hostage as they head cross-country with an agenda and an ambitious NYPD detective on their trail.
Feature Action, Comedy, Crime For sale 120pp
1 reader loves this script
Sabre Ice
Scientists thaw a frozen cavewoman and unknowingly implant modern brain matter from a convicted serial killer—an attribute they must embrace when their other experiment, two genetically-enhanced sabretooth tigers, break loose within the compound.
Feature Action, Adventure, Horror, Sci-Fi For sale 115pp
Dead or Alive
Three supernatural stories involving a diverse group of individuals unfold over a fateful night in 1885 Nevada.
Feature Action, Adventure, Horror, Sci-Fi, Western For sale 132pp
Feeling Reality
A smart seventeen-year-old girl pines for her best friend and weighs options that could affect her scholastic future solely on the uncertainty of revealing her feelings to him.
Feature Drama, Romance For sale 100pp
Rupture
A college student changes his past and finds that the new and original timelines have overlapped one another, creating duplicate entities unseen by their counterpart... and one may be out to get him.
Feature Drama, Sci-Fi, Thriller For sale 108pp
Surrender Your Heart
After her fiancé is murdered by his disturbed ex-girlfriend, a woman spirals back in time to before they met and must steer him away from the girl that will one day seal his fateful future.
Feature Drama, Romance, Sci-Fi For sale 92pp
Nowhere Squared
Three complete strangers—a rising actor, a disgruntled street thug and a vocally-impaired college girl—all wake up trapped inside a strange metal-grated room with no way out and no memory of how they got there.
Feature Horror, Mystery, Sci-Fi, Thriller For sale 86pp
Momentum
A malicious shape-shifting alien banished to Earth arranges an escape ship with his race responsible for leaving him in exchange for a terminally-ill woman who holds the key to their survival in an interplanetary war.
Feature Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi For sale 108pp
Bloodsmoke
A new college student is recruited by peers into their war against a vampire threat, but their biggest battle comes when one of their own is bitten and fights with unprecedented reluctance against the change.
Feature Action, Horror, Thriller For sale 120pp
sendnudes