Quarantine Island by J.E. Clarke | Script Revolution

Quarantine Island

Four film students head to an abandoned island to film a documentary - but find that certain horrors have not yet been buried. (Cowritten with Dena McKinnon)

Type:

Status:

Page Count: 
90pp

Genre:

Budget:

Age Rating:

Synopsis/Details: 

A group of film students canoe to an isolated island to film a documentary. Once there, they discover they're not alone - and deadly traps await onshore.

True to it's nickname, "Quarantine Island" was once used as a drop off point for sailors and foreigners, until they could be deemed healthy enough for the mainland. At the turn of the century, a group of Norwegians were stranded there. According to legend, they never made it off the island. And were never heard from again.

Film students Beth, Jeff, Kevin, Sylie, Dusty and Eric visit the island to investigate - in search of adventure (and an easy A.)

Once they arrive and set up camp, Beth has an eerie encounter in the woods. They awake to find their canoe adrift in the ocean. And a strange line of salt around their tent. As they explore their surroundings, the trio discover a decaying infirmary in the woods. And a desolate bone yard. It quickly becomes clear; something's not right. But determined to carry on with the project, they push deeper into the woods - and find an abandoned hospital.

Pushed by a storm and rising tides, the group spends the night in the crumbling structure. Inside, they discover grisly photos that suggest a practice of something other than medicine. And it's not ancient history. Attempting to leave, they discover the window they slid through has been nailed shut. Someone - or something - is stalking them! Trapped inside, the group must find a way to survive. Before the island Quarantines them. Permanently....

Submitted: September 23, 2016
Last Updated: July 12, 2020

Want to read this script? You must join the revolution first. Don't worry, it's free, easy, everyone's welcome, and you can start reading right away.

J.E. Clarke's picture

The Writer: J.E. Clarke

Known for her unique characters and plots, J.E. Clarke has optioned her feature length horror, " Containment " with Primestar Film Group (director Mike Elliott of Scorpion King 4 attached), her SF feature " Stream " with Purryburry Productions, John Noble of " Fringe " and " Lord of the Rings " attached. Her fantasy/SF " Evergreen " (cowritten for Adam Zeulhke of Zenoscope Productions), is currently in preproduction, along with Entanglement (Director/Cowriter David Manocchio), and international thriller Blood Type (Director/Cowriter Dan Thorens.) Currently seeking representation, Ms. Clarke's portfolio of work is available at http://www.jecstories.xyz/ (Sample shorts at http://www... Go to bio

More Scripts From J.E.

Natural Progression
In the vein of Isaac Asimov's "I Robot" series, Android "Tim" legally fights for the right to self-determination... and just a bit more.
Short Sci-Fi Available for Free 11pp
Changes
A single mother battles menopause... with some horrifying results she does NOT expect!
Short Comedy, Horror Available for Free 13pp
Friendship is Electric
A teen girl with epilepsy attempts to sneak home wearing an embarrassing EEG - and that's where BFF's come in!
Short Drama Available for Free 7pp
Strange Smells in Dusty Hallways
Sometimes, possession isn't the worst danger from ghosts...
Short Comedy Available for Free 5pp
Menopause Mad Max
In a post-apocalyptic desertscape, three travelers happen upon a troupe of older women... who are perhaps not what they appear to be.
Short Comedy, Sci-Fi Available for Free 9pp
Blaming Victoria
A woman in an abusive relationship is urged to choose "a lesser evil" by her friends. A satire decrying compromise in politics...
Short Drama Available for Free 3pp
Sanctity of Life
Infected by an alien parasite, a colonist argues for the right to have it removed. (A pro-choice SF look re: the ethics of abortion.)
Short Drama, Sci-Fi Available for Free 11pp
WWJD (What Would Jesus Do?)
An ancient language expert hired by a top secret lab finds himself with the job of a lifetime: translating a revived Jesus's first words. But will they be what his benefactors want to hear...?
Short Drama, Sci-Fi, Thriller Available for Free 7pp
Heaven in the Hills
After a school shooting, a young girl's parents drag her to their new summer home. Soon, little Jenny starts to play an invisible friend: bringing new meaning to the phrase "Rest AND Peace"....
Short Horror Available for Free 12pp
Confined
A woman and her family hide from soul-sucking monsters. But when their safe-space becomes a trap... what will a mother do to save her children's lives?
Short Horror Available for Free 5pp
If You Can't Beat Em, Join Em
Two frustrated atheists hatch a plan to get the word out - by infiltrating the church!
Short Comedy Available for Free 19pp
Battle of the Ice Cream Trucks - A Tale of Ice and Ire
Two rival teens battle it out for neighborhood supremacy. But a cold, cruel fate awaits them both!
Short Comedy Available for Free 7pp
Lesser of Two Evils - Gang War
In an apocalyptic future, two captive women debate whether "lesser evils"... actually are.
Short Sci-Fi Available for Free 11pp
Siriusly Speaking
When the rip in their French Bulldog's bed keeps mysteriously refilling, a couple begin to suspect all is not what it seems.
Short Comedy, Sci-Fi Available for Free 8pp
Equilibrium
Audited by the Temporal Bureau, a billionaire discovers that meritocracy is a BAD concept... for him.
Short Sci-Fi Available for Free 14pp
Bloodtype
A gamer obsessed hedge fund exec, Erik Bowman finds his world turned upside down when his firm is accused of organ trafficking. When it comes to real life, which side is Erik on?
Feature Thriller Seeking finance 120pp
VY, Inc.: Virtually Yours
When a virtual reality boutique opens in Brussels - a COVID and income inequality ravaged world finds there are no limits. That is, if you can pay...
TV Pilot Sci-Fi Seeking finance 24pp
Strangers Come A Knocking Around Midnight
Mary just wants a peaceful evening at home. But the neighboring kids won't leave her alone!
Short Comedy, Horror Produced 7pp
2 readers love this script
The Economy Sucks
To provide for his family, a cash strapped businessman makes a desperate deal. Wall Street isn't the only blood sucker out there.
Short Drama, Horror Produced 5pp
2 readers love this script
More Than the Sum of Her Thoughts
Struck by a neurological condition that affects her memory, a woman attempts to video tape her feelings for her future self. Photo by Kaleb Nimz on Unsplash
Short Drama Produced 10pp
1 reader loves this script

Pages

sendnudes