Runs Like a Gazelle by Steve Garry | Script Revolution

Runs Like a Gazelle

Athletics staff at a small mid-West college recruit a jolly ex-Eastern Bloc coach passed over by everybody else to train a fleet-of-foot deliveryman from the poor side of town for a big State track meet.

Type:

Status:

Page Count: 
109pp

Genre:

Budget:

Age Rating:

Synopsis/Details: 

"Runs Like a Gazelle" is a fictional story in the vein of "Rocky" or "The Karate Kid", but without the fights, and with a cute romance. The sport in question is the 100 meter sprint.

Oh, and you might as well throw in a little bit of "It's a Wonderful Life", because one of the underlying themes is "volunteerism" and strangers who offer a helping hand. I think it's about time a movie was made about those amazing people, don't you?! Certainly, my protagonist, Donnie Lopez - for all the effort he puts out and all the troubles he surmounts - wouldn't get too far without a little help!

If you'd like to view this fun and uplifting modestly-budgeted 4-quad story, which has a wide assortment of characters to broaden its appeal, I look forward to sending it to you. (Also available as Pilot + Episode One)

Producers: Please contact me for the full script/synopsis, or buy the Kindle version at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007U92BJ2

Submitted: February 23, 2017
Last Updated: August 22, 2021

Want to read this script? You must join the revolution first. Don't worry, it's free, easy, everyone's welcome, and you can start reading right away.

Steve Garry's picture

The Writer: Steve Garry

I am an incorporated businessperson, and I operate as Integer Entertainment. I'm actively pursuing attachments for my smaller scale projects before I work my way up. While the status of my scripts here may read 'For Sale', I'm just as likely to be seeking producers/talent/investors to collaborate with as a co-producer, wherein I'd be bringing my screenplay as well as package elements and maybe even some money to the table. In addition, with a decade of pitching behind me and being read hundreds of times, I may have connections to enhance the resources that you have available. Don't hesitate to approach me with this in mind. Flexibility, creativity and unconventional collaborations are... Go to bio

More Scripts From Steve

The Undefeatable Penny
As Christmas approaches, a chronically unemployed young woman who dreams of a better life struggles to remain positive even as everything around her goes badly.
Feature Comedy, Drama For sale 103pp
2 readers love this script
Swastikas in New York
In 1939, as world war looms and home-grown fascists march in the streets, a naive, orphaned teenager moves into her cousin's rooming house, whose tenants include a mysterious old man in the German American Bund.
Feature Drama, History, Mystery For sale 110pp
1 reader loves this script
Dumbheadz
A teenage supermarket clerk, his slacker co-workers, and their incredibly cantankerous supervisor battle a horde of zombies that invade the store.
Feature Comedy, Horror For sale 97pp
1 reader loves this script
None of the Above
Campaign co-chairs who are falling in and out of love try to win the election for their own anything-but-cliché candidate while fighting off opponents who include a sensational sports star and an obscure neophyte.
Feature Comedy For sale 105pp
1 reader loves this script
Judgement at Siddim
A man reassesses his plan to avenge a violent crime against his family after a stranger crosses his path who is set to mete out his own final brand of justice.
Feature Crime, Drama, Mystery, Thriller For sale 104pp
Panic in the Street
A detective realizes that the escalating violence that plagues his city is part of a dark competition by teenage misfits.
Feature Crime, Drama, Mystery, Thriller For sale 109pp
Kith
As the last human on Earth struggles against her treacherous environment and her desperate loneliness, a frightening creature begins to prowl the ruins in which she lives.
Feature Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Sci-Fi For sale 97pp
Sam Tuttle
A wealthy shut-in, born with an unusual deformity, has his eccentric, anonymous life turned upside down after he helps a young, pregnant woman with amnesia abandoned at the roadside.
Feature Comedy, Drama, Romance For sale 110pp
Sea Dragons
The Navy's latest, armed-to-the-teeth Destroyer comes to the aid of a vessel that collided with an unknown creature, provoking deadly combat between prehistoric sea monsters and a modern military ill-prepared to counter such an adversary.
Feature Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi For sale 104pp
Brighton and Hove
Hiding in a compound with survivors after a pandemic wiped out humanity, a man who tends court for the despotic leader seeks redemption by switching places with a rebel hero he had to lock up.
Feature Comedy For sale 98pp
Infasion
When Homeland Security investigates a mailed anthrax attack, an agent meets a doctor struggling with bizarre emotional disturbances affecting her community, and together they uncover a contamination emergency beyond anything they are prepared for.
Feature Drama, Romance, Sci-Fi For sale 112pp
Neanderthals Didn't Go To Mars
A shy man invents time travel and hopes it will impress a co-worker he loves, but then agents from the future arrive with really good news and really bad news about the invention.
Feature Comedy, Romance, Sci-Fi For sale 93pp
The Rewilders
Things go magnificently awry when a conservationist leads her team of government ecologists to re-introduce near-extinct species back into the wild.
Feature Animation, Comedy, Family, Fantasy For sale 92pp
Little Sheep
A young fighter leads his fellow child soldiers on a campaign to liberate vulnerable people across their war-ravaged African country.
Feature Action, Adventure, Drama, War For sale 118pp
Shredder Saves the World
When a boy receives a chilling video from the future, he recruits his friends to try to save the world’s animal kingdom from demise that somehow starts with his own cat.
Feature Adventure, Family, Sci-Fi For sale 104pp
Beecroft
A boy, and a girl who moves in next door, receive supernatural help from a resident of a senior citizens' home as they fend off bullies, dealers and rednecks in their tough neighborhood.
Feature Family, Fantasy, Horror For sale 103pp
The War on Terror
A terrorist group triggers a path to disaster that a War Room full of generals and CIA analysts frantically tries to stop.
Feature Comedy, Thriller For sale 92pp
Mission to Borroloola
When an overlooked case of immunity is uncovered decades after a pandemic took Humanity to the brink, a doctor leads her team into unknown territory to find a survivor who may not even be alive.
Feature Action, Horror, Romance, Sci-Fi For sale 107pp
American Genocide
Two psychopathic siblings, on the run with their irresponsible father from their demented mother, blend in with a parade of mass murderers weaving a trail of death and terror across the nation’s highways.
Feature Comedy, Crime, Drama, Thriller For sale 104pp
The Ugly Dude
In a zombie pandemic, a dude with serious kung fu searches for refuge in a quest made more lonely because he's so ugly fellow survivors think he's a zombie, and the Undead know he's not.
Feature Action, Comedy, Horror For sale 109pp

Pages