Yesterday's Cabbage by Steve Cleary | Script Revolution

Yesterday's Cabbage

A pair of slacker junior executives struggle to save their cushy studio jobs by revamping unproduced scripts from Hollywood's Golden Age and submitting them under a pseudonym.

Type:

Status:

Page Count: 
96pp

Genre:

Budget:

Age Rating:

Synopsis/Details: 

Note: This script was originally published under the working title "What's the Big Idea?"

Dickie and Quincy are junior executives at a movie studio in Hollywood. Their life there is pretty cushy until their boss informs them that their last film bombed and the studio is facing bankruptcy.

Forced to find a "tentpole 4Q" by the holidays, the boys scour the tracking boards and contests to no avail, but one day Quincy discovers an old box in the studio basement containing screenplays the studio bought but never produced.

Since they were written in the 40s and 50s, Quincy convinces Dickie to punch up the language and settings to modern times -- and to put a pseudonym in the 'written by' line so the credit goes back to them. The plan works and the scripts get the greenlight, but the studio heads demand more from the fictional writer while a rival producer catches onto their scheme.

Caught in a pickle, Dickie and Quincy must then draw on their own talents to save their jobs and the studio.

All Accolades & Coverage: 

From Black List Evaluation:

The premise offers an interesting exploration of the Hollywood development world, and illustrates many absurd features and accurate insights about the business (ex. "'You guys were gonna take over this town. Whatever happened to the scribe I fell in love with?' … 'He learned that honest stories rooted in reality won’t put asses in theater seats.'"). Dickie and Quincy are both engaging and funny characters who are relatable and intriguing to follow on their journeys. Their funny rapport and endearing friendship anchors the scenes with humorous exchanges and unique antics that give the script a strong comedic tone.

The most marketable aspect of the script is its unique characters, whose bold voices anchor the scenes with humor and personality, and give the script a strong comedic tone.

Submitted: June 9, 2019
Last Updated: September 29, 2020

Want to read this script? You must join the revolution first. Don't worry, it's free, easy, everyone's welcome, and you can start reading right away.

This Script Is Loved By

Rick Helin's picture
Steve Cleary's picture

The Writer: Steve Cleary

Thanks for stopping by. If you're into quirky, irreverent, oddball humor in the vein of South Park or Nacho Libre, I think you'll like my feature comedies. I also write in drama, thriller and action/adventure genres. Material designated as "Available for Free" indicates permission for non-exclusive use. Otherwise, feel free to contact me to work something out. Open to writing assignments and production collaborations. Check out my action hero parody microseries, ManHeat , where I poke fun at action movie tropes and cliches. Go to bio

More Scripts From Steve

Crystals and Rainbows to You
An aspiring spiritual guru struggles to make a case study of his unenlightened old college buddy in order to secure a speaking position at a new age expo.
Feature Comedy For sale 92pp
2 readers love this script
Lawn Boys
A recently-unemployed ad-man saves his buddy's lawncare business with a rebranding campaign targeting lonely housewives, but when a rival company begins a mass astroturf conversion, he must hone his new lawncare skills to stop him.
Feature Comedy For sale 96pp
1 reader loves this script
The Tasting Room
A hapless tasting room associate struggles to make heads or tails of an urbane couple's poetic, pretentious and scathing wine tasting notes.
Short Comedy Available for Free 6pp
8 readers love this script
The Trail
A distraught young man is taken on a vigorous mountain hike by his buddy to take his mind off his missing girlfriend, but by the time they reach the peak, a dark secret is revealed.
Short Thriller Available for Free 10pp
6 readers love this script
No Trespassing
A fancy man in a tailored suit endures a night of terror when he pays an unwelcome visit to a wary homeowner.
Short Thriller Available for Free 3pp
6 readers love this script
Banh Mi?! Banh You!!
A blind lunch date with an insecure guy and a gal who skipped breakfast is a recipe for disaster!
Short Comedy Available for Free 3pp
2 readers love this script
The Secret Agent's Secret
A dashing secret agent lets his arch-nemesis and his hench-woman in on a little secret: he just can't score babes.
Short Comedy Available for Free 5pp
2 readers love this script
Devil's Gulch
When a wayward backpacking couple encounter a crafty old codger in the wilderness, they realize they might have been better off lost!
Short Comedy Available for Free 5pp
1 reader loves this script
Hello, Euphoria
A depressed middle-aged man turns to high-intensity running as a means to induce a heart attack, but an obsession with a beautiful young co-ed jogger he encounters on the path changes his plan.
Short Thriller Available for Free 17pp
Deadlywinks
Kidnapped and held captive in a cheap motel, the North American Tiddlywinks Champion is forced to play a rematch -- to the death.
Short Comedy, Thriller Seeking finance 9pp
2 readers love this script
sendnudes